Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Why isn't logging temp sensor data a common feature of controllers ?

Options
I am new to hydronic controll,
I started investigating on optimizing the curve of an outdoor reset controller (Honeywell T775P)
And I figure that it would be nice to have a log of sensors output data for a long period,
this would give precious indications of problems or suboptimal settings.
I notice that the controller doesn't record data, it seems like such a simple feature to support,
it's a shame that they don't have it.
Can a datalogger be easily added to an existing system ?

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,143
    Options
    Plenty of inexpensive data loggers out their these days. Depending on how much data and how often you want to sample it, it gets to be a lot to keep logged. When you start sampling several times a minute or every 5 seconds data piles up quickly it takes huge storage space to keep it all.

I suspect price is a concern for equipment manufacturers, the really watch pennies when they design and build. They analyze the market to see which features are really needed or customers would pay more for. I think most of the newest mod cons have some data collection included.