Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Duct sealant problems

Smith19
Smith19 Member Posts: 108
Hello everyone,
After many weeks of deliberation, I have elected to seal my ductwork with MasterFlow mastic. It works like a charm! However, when it came time to insulate over the mastic, I ran into trouble.

It looks like pretty much all types of foil duct tape do not stick to dried mastic. I can't keep the stuff on the ducts where it meets mastic. Any thoughts on this issue?

Thanks!

Comments

• JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,042
    What type of insulation are you wrapping with. Fiberglas or other?
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,455
    Can't say I am a duct insulating expert but I used to stick the insulation to the duct with a few short strips of tape, then wrap it around the duct and tape the insulation to itself.

the foil tape I have seen is pretty sticky. I would think it would stick to mastic
  • Smith19
    Smith19 Member Posts: 108
    Can't get it to stick to mastic. I have to areas around the furnace plenum where the foil backed fibre glass insulation has to be stuck onto the duct where it meets the furnace. Thinking I may mastic over the insulation to hold it on.
  • Mike
    Mike Member Posts: 94
    I like using the plastic disks. Screw them through the insulation into the duct. Holds the insulation in place, and keeps it from sagging on the bottom. Then a piece of tape on each exposed disk, then tape the seams. Makes for a nice looking job.
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,455
    never seen the plastic disks. There are also metal stick pins
  • JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,042
    You could also use a termination strip/bar. Pieces of pre-drilled "S" cleat could secure the insulation at the lower end of the plenum.