Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Putting Together a Hydronic course

eddiecalder
eddiecalder Member Posts: 3
edited July 2017 in THE MAIN WALL
So I'm in the process of putting together a Hydronic course for the school I work at. I'm a full time Refrigeration instructor that holds a Red Seal in Refrigeration and Plumbing. I have my Gas B ticket and an Cross-Connection certified (may have actually lapsed).

The course I'm trying to make is for Hydronics and not for boilers specifically. Chillers, cooling towers, heat reclaim, building loops, condensers will all be discussed in the class. It is meant to be an introduction to using fluids as a medium to move heat.

Is there any reference for the cooling side of hydronics that I should reference?

The basic topics I'm considering at this time are:

Basic Theory:
Introduction to heat and matter (specific heat formula, sensible heat formula, gas laws)
Major components
Near and Far piping (direct return, reverse return, injection, close spaced tees, etc)
Mixing valves
Pumps (curves, pumping away, injection systems etc)
Accessories
Heat Pump Loops
Heat recovery options
Fluid Coolers, Condensers, Cooling Towers, Evaporative Condensers,
Safeties and Control systems (intro to DDC) (Tekmar has been requested specifically)
Balancing
Backflow devices
Water treatment
Design and installation practices
Basic service procedures

Practicals:
System Design (pump sizing, pipe sizing, Heat load calculations, )
Taking apart and servicing pumps
Boiler teardown and maintenance
Cooling tower cleaning maintenance
Wiring project (simple control circuit with pump and zone valves)

Anything I'm missing here that you would think would be of value for an introduction?