Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hydronic radiator valves: Holes inside myth?

IamNotARobot
IamNotARobot Member Posts: 1
I am still relatively new to the industry and just started a full time job in it. One question I can't seem to get to the bottom of is holes in hydronic radiator valves. There are a few persons in the business that have told me that you can't truly close a hydronic radiator valve because there is a small hole in the valve to allow some water to pass through to prevent freezing. My teacher at school, who works in the business, says it is a myth. Personally I think it is a myth too, but there are old folks that been doing heating for years that swear it is true.
steamfitter

Comments

• Danny Scully
    Danny Scully Member Posts: 1,416
  • JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,042
    The old valves I have seen on gravity systems were 1/4 turn "spool" design with a small opening when 100% "off".
    Freeze protection for the rad and any piping installed in an outside wall, IIRC. Plus without this small flow just getting the heat started to that rad may have taken too long.

Now if you replace one with a steam valve, you would lose the small hole flow for sure.
    steamfitterJackmartin
  • Lance
    Lance Member Posts: 265
    First lesson not taught in school is you are responsible for your own education. Second lesson not taught in school is teachers don't know everything even though they speak as if they do.