Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Stainless steel tubing for AC lines?

Hi,

Wading a bit out of my knowledge zone here. I recently acquired a lot of stainless steel tubing. Like miles of it lol. 1/4"-1" in various wall thicknesses but for example I have a 2200' of 3/8" 0.035" 316/316L Sandvik instrument tubing with lots of accompanying Swagelok fittings.

My thought is that it is completely overkill for the application of plumbing a split AC system I have in a guest house, but suffice to say it was almost free.

I'm not a HVAC expert, nor licensed to perform AC activities. But I am fairly well versed in mechanical things and running, bending, flaring and hooking up lines is well within my wheelhouse. And I like to do things myself.

The AC condenser at this guest house/barn has been in place since the 70's and I would like to retire it. It may run a few weeks in the summer and that's it, I close the place down in the winter.

Good or bad idea?

Thanks!

photo 20160718_113606_zpsgajvo4os.jpg

Peter Owens
SteamIQ

Comments

• ChrisJ
    ChrisJ Member Posts: 15,583
    For AC my first concern would be cleanliness of the inside of the piping.

Whenever I buy refrigeration grade copper it comes with caps on the ends.
    Single pipe quasi-vapor system. Typical operating pressure 0.14 - 0.43 oz. EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Control for Residential Steam boilers. Rectorseal Steamaster water treatment
  • Sailah
    Sailah Member Posts: 826
    Good point. I cannot guarantee the tubing is super clean. Was in a rack stored vertical, 10' pieces. No caps.

Maybe I could steam clean it :)

Assume it was clean for the sake of argument any reason that stainless steel is a no no for AC?