Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Mod con and/or combi design help

agansley
agansley Member Posts: 6
Hello all has been awhile, I am a plumbing and heating contractor, I am not new to Mod cons but do mostly service and repairs, have installed several dozen over the years, but have a project that's giving me some design issues.

Northern New Jersey
3 story building, single gas hot water ci boiler, single zone of ci radiators. 1930 construction, single pane windows. 75 gallon gas water heater.
3 apartments total, 1st and second have 2 full bathrooms and 3 bedrooms so possibility of both showers going same time.

Customer wants:

1. Separate all 3 units heat and dhw.
2. Change to baseboard emitters, does not like the exposed piping and ci radiators.
3. get rid of chimney / make more room and save cost of liner.
4. Move boiler location to secure back mechanical room, he was thinking combi units
( room may be to tight for 3 boiler indirect combs)

Customer is a little flexible and willing to pay for the right job.

My issues, with quick math looking at 53,382 max load per larger unit, most likely on 2 zones.
Would like to stay with quality unit that has good support in the area, im not one to install and leave.
Problem comes in with a possible 4 gpm dhw of the two showers, and not sure if I would have enough room for larger indirect tank.

Thoughts on a particular unit?

Comments

• SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    Seem like a lot of heat for an apartment. How many square feet are they and when was the building built?
  • agansley