Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

ventilation system approach in semi-tight radiant house

Options
markt
markt Member Posts: 26
I'm looking for design suggestions of ventilation for my house. I'm not a HVAC pro, but former contractor, more than capable of building/installing anything, but need some approach/design guidance. Here's the context:

I have a typical 1960's ranch house located in coastal SF Bay Area. In a recent remodel I installed radiant floors, new windows and doors, and spray foamed most of the envelope. We have no AC and no mechanical ventilation, except bath fans. I have not tested how tight it is, but it gets stuffy fairly quickly when closed up, which is admittedly rare -- temperate climate, kids and dogs coming and going, doors and windows often left open, etc. It's a totally open plan, basically one long room, and a wing with two bedrooms and baths which have doors, but no other interior walls in the house. Thermostat is fixed at 65 and it's generally perfectly comfortable.

There are three ventilation enhancements I'd like however, and I'm wondering if I can do it with one system. First, I'd like a little forced ventilation in the bedrooms -- they get stuffy when the doors (interior) and windows are closed, which isn't often, but still it would be nice. Second, I'd like make-up air for range hood. Third, I'd like whole house air during the occasional hot summer evenings. The pattern here is that when it's hot it can be 85-90 in the day, but by 9pm it's almost always dropped to 60 or less and blasting outside air in would cool effectively.