Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Pressuretrol and Thermostat

I am a newbie when it comes to steam. I recently tried to adjust my pressuretrol, on the advice of Dan Holohan's book, to a cut in of 0.5 psi with a differential of 1 psi. It's an additive pressuretrol. The settings were reversed before I changed them, i.e. cut in of 1 and diff.of 0.5.

Could this affect the behavior of the burner and the thermostat? I noticed that the thermostat was reading "heat on" while the flame is off. Is this normal? Perhaps I don't understand cycles per hour that well. If it is set for 1 cycle per hour, say, and the temp falls below set point a second time during that hour, does the burner not fire? I'm trying to understand why I'd see "heat on" when there is no flame. Is this normal?

Comments

• Paul S_3
    Paul S_3 Member Posts: 1,261
    edited March 2016
    If all the pipes were hot and the radiators too....it probably tripped on the pressuretrol meaning the pressure in the system reach the cutout setting (1.5psi)....it should maintain in your case between .5psi and 1.5psi.....so to answer your question it is normal for your thermostat to say heat on and the boiler be off....
    ASM Mechanical Company
    Located in Staten Island NY
    Servicing all 5 boroughs of NYC.
    347-692-4777
    ASMMECHANICALCORP@GMAIL.COM
    ASMHVACNYC.COM
    https://heatinghelp.com/find-a-contractor/detail/asm-mechanical-company
    jmob77
  • BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,476
    If the pressure reaches the high trip point the boiler will shut down till the pressure drops down to the low set point. The stock 30 PSI gauge is pretty useless on modern steam boilers but regulations require it. Note that pressuretrols are not accurate at the low end of their range.