Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

C wire help

sscerberus
sscerberus Member Posts: 7
I'm not that experienced with HVAC wiring to start to I apologize but I'm wondering if I could get some input regarding installing a C wire to convert a 2 wire system to to a three wire for a programmable thermostat like the EcoBee3. The power extender kit they include does no good for me they said as I would still need to have a third wire at the thermostat.

First question is this. At the thermostat when not actively heating (it is a heat only system) I get a voltage reading of 26.5v across my Rh and W. When the unit is heating I get 0v which makes sense to me because the mercury thermostat installed now shorts it. At my boiler 24v transformer I get 26.5v across R and C. I also get 26.5v across R and G. I get no voltage across C and G. When the unit is running I get 0v across all of them. So I know R is my 24v
I'll also say that in my wiring the 24v transformer terminals go to the follow. C goes to W at the thermostat. And R and G are combined to go to Rh at the thermostat.

So if I add a third wire for the C at the thermostat that these new thermostats require... What terminal am I supposed to wire it to? I would have guessed R but when the unit runs it loses its 24v. I don't have a constant 24v output on any terminal. I also only have R C G (there is no Y or W on the transformer in the boiler... Well there is but it is a Honeywell R8285D transformer and there are no connections to Y or W)

I was also looking at the fast-stat common maker but I don't know if that would work again being that i only have R C G at the transformer.

Comments

• hvacfreak2
    hvacfreak2 Member Posts: 500
    edited February 2016