Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Spirovent Jr. maintenance in Hot Water Heating System

mgotch1
mgotch1 Member Posts: 3
My 1-1/2" Spriovent jr. needed a new inner core. The new one came with a factory installed plastic plug in 1 end of it. Why? The original core has no plug in it. Some Factory modification? Do I remove it and throw it away or leave it? If so, does the plugged end go up or down? ...Thanks in advance...Mike

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,022
    What happened to the core that it needs to be replaced? Got a picture?
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • mgotch1
    I installed entire System 12 years ago. I'm a retired Boiler engineer with 30+ years. 5 zones. It has worked perfect all the time. Nice,Quiet flow....Great even heat!
    Late last winter started to hear bubbles. Pulled head & bench tested. Float valve sticking. Flushed with cleaner 'till operating properly. Noticed that core element had lost about 5% of itself. I flipped it over and have been using it all winter. Nice and quiet, but needed to be replaced. In retrospect, I probably didn't flush out the system properly 12 yrs. ago.
    The supplier sent me the wrong Spirovent Jr. core twice before they got it right. All of them had a plastic plug in only one end of the core tube. Thus, my question. Why? Trash or up or down installation?......Thanks for the assistance
  • hot_rod
    I don't know about the parts, contact a factory rep or Spiro directly

I believe it is a plated copper media. If it is dissolving you have aggressive water or oxygen getting in

Is it a radiant systdm? Non barrier tube?
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
  • mgotch1
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr,