Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Taco ZVC controls...

I am not an electrician but I have wired a lot of boilers.
One thing I have noticed on the taco zvc relays they want you to run all the low voltage in the top and all the high voltage in the bottom. If they are all in the same box and you are not overlapping the wires what is the "issue"...
ty,kcopp

Comments

• Empire_2
    Empire_2 Member Posts: 2,343
    edited September 2015
    No I'm pretty sure the lo voltage enters through the top and line into the bottom...
  • kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,418
    So why cant you use just one of the hole (say to the top left) through to feed the unit w power 120v and the others up top for the low voltage...?
  • SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    Not quite sure exactly what you're describing, but if it's mixing line voltage and low (controls) voltage wiring in the same J-box, it requires that all the low voltage cables be rated for 300V (generally a CL3 rating.) Thermostat wire is not so rated, which is why many prepackaged controls have a way to segregate the two (Tekmar comes to mind.)
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,018
    What we learned from our UL inspector regarding the wiring inside the Caleffi relay boxes. If there is an actually connection point or terminal for every wire to "land" on then there is no need to have a separation between the various voltages

If the wiring required connections like wire nuts inside the enclosure the you need a separation.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
    RobGkcopp
  • SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    Right -- as a listed device, it is covered.

In the field, we can't mix them in boxes or raceways unless the jackets are properly rated.
  • Joe Mattiello
    Joe Mattiello Member Posts: 704