Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

HELP ME CHOOSE AN OIL BOILER. LOW MASS VS MID MASS

ED95Pont
ED95Pont Member Posts: 10
I am an electrician by trade but have spent the past 2 months educating myself in hydronics. I have a full understanding of controls.

I am looking for the system that will use less oil

My Home: 2100 sf colonial built in 1820 in northwest ct. Slant fin heat loss is 68,000 an hour. My home is fairly tight for an old home but I have not done a blower test. Current system is a 144,000 btu GE boiler with a domestic coil. 2 heating zones. First floor zone piping splits off and goes 3 ways and returns back to 1. I have fin tube baseboard. My boiler is located in a below grade basement about 700 sf. The basement is comfortable in the winter. I would assume some of that comfort comes from the loss off my non insulated boiler

I have gotten 5 quotes all different equipment. all 3 pass and indirect with various controls. all the contractors are trying to over size. I am using an interest free loan through our utility to pay for this, only certain contractors are on the list. The contractors I have spoken with are all comfortable with all the choices in equipment other than the b3, they all will not install it. They all think it is not big enough
My Heat loss 68,000
My choices
Buderus 115-3 DOE 85000 Net 74000 8.7 gallons of water
Biasi B3 DOE 67000 Net 58000 3.7 gallons of water
Biasi B4 DOE 97000 Net 84000 4.7 gallons of water
Purepro trio P3 DOE 91000 Net 79000 3.6 gallons off water
My indirect will be between 32 and 40 gallons with priority control.

The best choice that I see based on the heat loss are the buderus with trio next in line. Lets assume that both use the same controls, Tekmar tn2 or honeywell aq251, cold start , otr, purge heat to last zone called, zone sync, Room temp feedback.