Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

DIRT and AIR Separators - Recommendations?

Options
hydronical
hydronical Member Posts: 24
I am a newbie working on my hydronic system, with its 1991 Pennco (Dunkirk?) boiler. I need to replace an expansion tank, and while the system is drained, I'd like to add some reasonable upgrades. Right now, I have poorly placed Amtrol float air vents, but no air separator or dirt separator. Here is a photo of the system.

In a separate post, hot rod recommended a Caleffi 5461 Discal DirtMag, which is a combined air, dirt & magnetic separator. Seems like a great device, though it is a little pricey.

Does a combined air, dirt and magnetic separator work as well as single-purpose devices? How important is the magnetic feature? For my home heating system with 3/4" piping, what makes the most sense? I want a quality device, or devices, that will last for a long time.

Comments

• hydronical
    Options
    Referring to the photo of my system, if I purchased an air separator and dirt separator as separate devices, would they be installed in different locations? Is this a good reason to buy separate devices?

For its 5453 DirtMag dirt separator, Caleffi recommends that it be installed on the return circuit upstream of the boiler, and always upstream of the pump.

For its 551 Discal air separator, Caleffi recommends that it be installed after the boiler and on the pump suction side.

Interestingly, Caleffi recommends that the 5461 combined air, dirt & magnetic separator should be installed after the boiler and on the pump suction side. This seems to favor air removal over dirt removal.

In my system, the circulator pump is attached directly to the boiler on the return side. I do not want to move the circulator pump or do any major repiping for this project.

Thanks!
  • Snowmelt