Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Looking for suggestions for a simple radiant system

Options
Hi folks.
I'm a general contractor building a small place for myself and am, for the first time, installing hydronic radiant. I've been browsing the wall for a couple years as I've been planning this project.
I'm getting ready to talk with a radiant designer and wanted to ask here for some suggestions first.
The home is in snow country, the Sierras in Northern Ca.
Approx 1150 sf ground floor and 400 upstairs.
I plan to use Warmboard for both floors.
I'm was thinking that each floor would be a zone. Guessing that each loop could be fine tuned at the manifold.
Should I consider just one zone?
Was interested in a combination heater/ boiler. Any suggestions? Condensing?
Any general suggestions?
I'm hoping to have a system that's simple and efficient. Sound doable?
Any input/ suggestions appreciated.
Thanks, Dan

Comments

• Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    Options
    Bedrooms upstairs? A,condensing combi boiler yes!

How are them floor treatments through out consistent, or wide range. Might dictate different supply water temps.
  • DanSadler
    DanSadler Member Posts: 4
    Options
    Planning stone tile throughout.
    Upstairs is a master suite
  • Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    Options
    If,you like,comtrol in sleeping areas zone them that's,about it. Not a big house well I don't mean that negatively I just mean don't get zone happy. Just make sure,the smallest zone is not less than the boilers min. Modulation. Otherwise short cycling becomes an issue. Have you done a room by room heatloss first step.
  • DanSadler
    Options
    No I haven't.
    Am planning to over insulate. Need to get those values nailed down.
    Any suggestions for a radiant designer?
  • Rich_49