Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heat going upstairs, but not downstairs AND now a wheezing from the boiler

noob
noob Member Posts: 5
Hello. second time here at the forum. First experience here was great, so i'm back to try again.

This summer I converted a single zone radiant baseboard hot water system to dual zone -- up stairs and downstairs. Things seemed to be working fine until a pipe, (that I had not worked on), came loose. only about a 1/4 inch of the pipe had been seated in the elbow when it was sweated in. I don't know when that occurred, but it was more than 18 years ago (and most likely in the 1970's). This is for a tenants apartment that is attached to our house -- we share a basement. Anyway, I repaired the pipe. Seated it properly. Being a noob, I stuffed a bunch of bread up the elbow (a vertical member). Well, I couldn't get water to run through the system. Had to take it apart, and sure enough, I had a nice bread clog that I cleared out. Fixed that, but again, water was not running. Could feel a section of pipe where it was very warm on one side, and quite cool on the other, as if there was an obstruction there. I left it for the night, and when I came back in the morning, heat was flowing, so I assumed that whatever had obstructed the flow became dislodged and was now somewhere where it was not obstructing flow. But sure enough, a few days later, the heat was not flowing like it should. bled the radiators, could not discern any air problems. turned the unit off to give the boiler a chance to rest, turned it back on, and really, very little water flowing through downstairs run. Upstairs remains fine.