Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Air keeps returning - ideas?

Options
I bought a 1954 home in May. Moving into winter, I doubt the woman who lived here was EVER warm enough. The first days below freezing the house wouldn't get over 67F. I work on the industrial side of the business but I am not experienced with the commercial products used in this house but am learning quickly. First thing I started was bleeding the air out the system. The water was so black that turned into shut down and flush. Before starting, I noticed she had a plastic pan under the pressure relief and there was a small amount of water in it. So while I had the system down and cold, I relieved the pressure and checked the pressure on the surge tank bladder. It was at 30 psi. Since this is a single story home - boiler in the basement - I dropped it to 15 psi. I set the make up regulator to give about 18 psi cold and 25 hot (there is some some creep which I think is normal). Bled the system of air both at the boiler then at the baseboard radiators. The pressure relief stopped it's intermittent spitting...for a while. The pressure crept back up which tells me the make up valve is sticking or leaking. It had warmed up outside for a while so I stopped working on it. When it got cold outside again, the system still couldn't keep up. I went and checked the temperature setting on the boiler and it was set for 160 F! It wasn't that cold outside yet and all I could think of was the poor woman freezing her but off last winter. Set the temp up to about 185F (Per weil mclain manual) and that problem went away.