Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Just bought home with Radiant Heating - some questions

sanjayp
sanjayp Member Posts: 19
I bought a home that has radiant floor and cast iron radiators. There is also baseboard in the sunroom. I am new to hot water heating. The system is about 2 years old and was put in when an oil to gas conversion was done. As I've turned this on for the first time, I have many questions about the effort to maintain it. I'm realizing this is not a simple heating system that I can turn and off.

Are there any links for the average homeowner to maintain such a system? I can tell you off the bat, it's incredibly comfortable (although the outside temp has yet to drop to under 25 degrees F. ) You don't even realize the home is being heated, it's so quiet!!

However, I see there is some higher than average work involved here to maintain this. I'm a little concerned if my wife can run this system as I travel at least a couple of weeks every month. A few questions:

1) Who do I call to evaluate this and do ongoing maintenance? Do I call a plumber?
2) The temperature of the floor heating part of the house doesn't go above 67 degrees, no matter what I set the thermostat to. I used an infrared thermometer to measure the floor temps and it's very uneven... 77 at the highest to 65 in other places. The floor has what I believe is the 'staple-up' heating... there is piping running along aluminum plates. Home inspector did mention that I should get the ceiling insulated and put in a drop ceiling to prevent heat loss. But that was the only thing that came out of the report.