Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Pipe connections to Condenser - Best Practices?

Thanks to all of you who review and contribute to this site. I am a layman and big fan.

So as my contractor is unfurling and shaping a new factory-fresh coil of 3/8 inch pipe, I explain that the condenser is located in a high traffic area (balcony) - with people traffic, mops, brooms, vacuums, planters, etc. - so please be mindful of how he routes the pipe to avoid a hazard. Conversely, he explains to me the importance of minimizing the number of right angle bends in the run to maximize flow through the system. Satisfied, I left him to finish the job.

So this is the result...what do you think? Is this best practice? A fresh coil of pipe could not be shaped in a fashion to make it tight to the larger pipe while removing one or both elbows and still allowing unfettered access of equipment to charge and service the system? Why cut the pipe too short and finish with joints and bits so close to the floor? Is there a valid reason for this?

With your comment please also tell me whether I should be demanding it be reworked, or just live with it. The blower unit is at least fifty linear feet away from this condenser, and the pipe makes many curves and bends before it emerges at either end of the run. But my biggest fear is that someone or something may accidentally strike and fracture the connection.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Practicing: