Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Ceiling Question

Cavallo
Cavallo Member Posts: 22
Preamble: I am only beginning to research this. I have not made any plans, nor purchased any materials or equipment as yet. I am asking this stuff because I don't honestly know. If my questions are dumb and noobish, I apologize in advance.

Anyway…

Hypothetical scenario. A house, 26x24ft, balloon construction, two stories, plus short basement and attic. Hip roof. Entire building envelope completely sealed with 2# closed cell foam, from the basement top periphery to the peak of the roof deck. Walls are expected to be R21, and roof R38. I have no square footages yet, so a proper heat load analysis has not been done. Imagine a standard complement of doors and windows. I'm not looking for hard numbers yet, just opinions.

Would it be outrageous to place aluminum spreaders and pex-al-pex with sleepers in contact with the first floor ceiling's sheet rock for top-down radiant on the first floor, and then neglect to insulate above it so that some of the heat warms the floor of the second floor, kind of like a staple-up, thereby heating both floors in one go?

I'm sure a ton of math would show whether this is reasonable. Before I go any further, I was wondering if anyone else may have done that math.

I realize that it would basically make the entire house one, giant zone, and this may not be wise, but ignore that for the moment.

Comments

• Snowmelt
    Snowmelt Member Posts: 1,405
    edited May 2014
    Nope

I get your idea in simple theory and not looking at whole picture.

The heat will go to the cold. Here's a small sample , you put pex I ceiling with no insulatition and you put up rock on the ceiling,