Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

how do you heatloss: tips and tricks anyone?

Hilly
Hilly Member Posts: 427
Just curious how most of the professional here get their heatloss calculations done. What do you find most efficient? ie, measure and sketch floorplan and then put into software back at the office, or do you use technology in some manner to created a floorplan on site and do you heatloss off site, do you use computers or tablets and do everything onsite on the fly? I am a beginner when it comes to heatloss, so I'm curious if any experienced professional have their trade tips or tricks to seamlessly getting the math done first. As always, I just want to thank anyone that reads or responds to this. Your experiences are often my best lessons when it comes to the hydronics world. Quality hydronics is often an enigma in my part of the world.

Thanks

Comments

• Tinman
    Tinman Member Posts: 2,808
    edited April 2014
    Different methods

It's rare that I do load calculations on site. I prefer to do them in my office after I've gathered the necessary information. It's easier putting that information on a worksheet or spreadsheet that is made for that purpose...it helps to keep things organized and professional while doing so.

For Hydronics, I use Uponor's software which I believe is still free for professionals.Slant Fin also has one for free that can be used on iPads and other tablets.For commercial load calcs, I just ordered Elite Software's CHVAC which was recommended to me by an engineer who use to frequent this site.
    Steve Minnich
  • Tinman
    I've also used

Wrightsoft software and still use the ACCA Manual J short form tear-off sheets for small jobs. If the information you feed in to the load calc is accurate, trust the math.
    Steve Minnich
  • Harvey Ramer