Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

pressuretrol psi gauge relationship?

notch
notch Member Posts: 18
Hi all. I am very new to residential steam heat. I moved into a house in October and due to many projects that needed to be done I only started looking at my burnham enterprise gas boiler and researching steam heat this past few days. So I am as novice as they come.

My first question pertains to the relationship between my pressuretrol and my psi gauge during cycles. On the pressuretrol the main is set for 1 psi and the diff is set for 1.5 psi. After observing it through a few cycles I noticed the boiler cuts out when the gauge reaches 7 psi. The psi shortly raises to about 7.75 psi then cuts on when it drops back to 7 psi (approximately 5 min). It then shortly falls to 6.5 psi then starts raising again where it cuts out at 7psi again (approximately 6 min), Where the the cycle starts over.

I would have assumed with those pressuretrol settings that the cut in would be around 1 and the cut out 2.5. Is my pressuretrol/psi gauge mis calibrated/ broken? Also is that cycle time normal or would that be considered a short cycle? Thanks in advance for any ideas.

Comments

• nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,576
    Short bursts of very high pressure

Is your pressuretrol on the same tee as the gauge? If so that would rule out the possibility of a plugged pigtail. I think the linkage on the pressuretrol has become disconnected, and is letting the pressure run up.

There should be some threads on here dealing with pressuretrol repair, if you search.

If your venting is adequate, you should be able to get steam to all the rads with a few ounces of pressure. You may still cut out several times on pressure if the boiler is oversized.--NBC
  • Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542