Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

System noises

Simply Rad
Simply Rad Member Posts: 184
Hello to all and thanks for the help

I have been a Vitodens installer since 2004 in my area of Colorado.  There have been a couple of random Vitodens installed by other contractors and one by one I have adopted them into my service.  This particular Vitodens is an 11-44 and I have been servicing it for the last 3 years.  The unit was installed in 2006 and has worked great for the client until a month ago.  All of a sudden the system creates a loud bang and whistle when the DHW pump starts.  The bang is also associated with a fluctuation in the pressure gauge. After the initial  bang the system operates flawlessly satisfying the DHW load.   There are a number of installation flaws in the DHW system.  First, the DHW pump was a Taco 014, which is a bit big for the boiler design flows.  Next, the DHW piping is only 1" from the tank to the DHW tank(Triangle tube Smart 80 tank). .    The system had a 1" control valve(zonevalve) in the DHW piping along with the DHW pump.  My first attempts removing the pump and inspecting it and the check valve.   I removed the control valve from the DHW system. Also, I made sure the air was eliminated from the tank 

This attempt worked for a few hours(of coarse I left and everything was quite).  Then the client called and said the bang and whistle were back.  I felt that the pump was too large for the DHW system so I asked the client to close the boiler return ball valve until the whistle stopped(velocity noise from a Taco 014 working with 1" copper).  The whistle stopped and the band got quieter?