Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Newbie Hydronic questions

Icarus
Icarus Member Posts: 143
Newbie here,

I have been reading through a number of threads and have found them to be most helpful. I am a semi retired general contractor. My current project is a new (to me) 1895 house. It currently has an old boiler in an out building, running two zones through fin tube. I want to install a E50C Rinnai combi boiler. I want to run the water temp cool enough to condense as much as possible. I have figured to run the loops at ~150f. I will have about 4 zones including 2 infloor radiant . So here are the first of what will be (I suspect) many questions.

I have done a heat loss/heat load calc. and need between 20-30k BTUs. (temperate climate, Pacific NW) the house has high ceilings, but is pretty well insulated given its age. There is also a 30K btu free standing fireplace.

I have figured a derate for most emitters of about .69 to account for the lower water temp. Is this a good ball park number? Given a choice, would you all agree to go with some sort of radiators instead of fintube? Am I better oversizing any emitter than undersizing?

My first choice would be traditional Cast iron radiators, but there are few used ones in our neck of the woods, as they are not common. (Forced air is common!) What is the best brand/design style at a reasonable cost. I like the look of the Hudson Reed traditional school house radiators, but Im open to anything.

I guess that is all for now,

thanks once again for any help,

Icarus

Comments

• Icarus
    more newbie questions

Just an add on to the thoughts above. My other alternative is to do a air source heat pump, running at low temps, with the Rinnai as a back up. thoughts
  • SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    Radiant floor heat