Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

elements burning out prematurely

foxm
foxm Member Posts: 1
I am new to this. Using a 36 litre HW tank single element (4500w) lasts about 2 weeks, then burns out(3). Basement floor 1 1/2-2" Styrofoam with 6 mil vapor barrier underneath. 4 zones 180-190' lengths, single pump. Brings floor temp up to 64 F before it burns out. Not used as a main heat source, just to warm up the slab. I purged each zone 30-45 min each with last element. Any advice or suggestions or if further details needed? 

Comments

• icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Burn-Outs:

So, you took a 9 or 10 gallon electric water heater and tried to use it as a hot water boiler.

Some here might have said that it might work for you. We haven't seen it work well for anyone else but it might work for you.

Sounds like it didn't. Electric water heaters aren't boilers and are designed to heat potable water. They make electric boilers that are designed to be used as boilers.

Water heater elements burn out for one main reason. Lack of cooling fluid (water) around the element. The two biggest ways I see this happening is by turning on the power with an empty tank (devoid of water). The elements burn out in a very short time. Like a minute or two with a 4500 watt element. The other way is by the fact that there are a lot of dissolved solids in the water that precipitate out of the water when heated by the element and the solids form on the element. Insulating the element from the cooling water.