Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Pex fittings and flow

MikeG
MikeG Member Posts: 169
Just for my own education what effect is there on flow in PEX tubing wigh some of the fitings in use?  I'm installing a small radiant ceiling using 1/2" PEX-AL.  The compression fittings have an internal opening of 5/16".  In this case there are only two fittings one on each end of about 150' of tubing.  Also I see on manifolds most of the compression fittings have smaller internal openings.  Is this restriction just more of a function of adding an equivelent length of tubing?  Obviously these systems work, I'm just trying to educate myself.  My background is more with open drainage systems, ditches, pipe flow and flood control pumping systems not closed systems.  We use some of the same factors but in a different way, length of pipe, roughness, slope, velocity,  and head pressure due to gravity.  Thanks  Mike

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,018
    correct you are

there will be a small pressure drop thru that fitting, but in your case not enough to cause a problem. The actual pressure drop depends on the flow rate. The more flow you try to move the more pressure drop.

At Caleffi we engineered the pex and PAP fittings to reduce this pressure drop. There needs to be enough brass in the fitting to take the compression force, when you crank the fitting down, so it is a balance act.

Tapered fitting, inside and out, with dual o-rings and a segmented olive (ferrule) all add up to an engineered fitting. Let me know if you want a sample.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • Weezbo
    Weezbo Member Posts: 6,232
    that seems to be an excellent solution ,

Are there any couplings/ transitions made for one inch ?

Are they transitioned thru British thread or ?