Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler T&P valve drips

My T&P has been dripping on a 4 year old boiler.  The system pressure says 12-13psi when cool.  The extrol 60 expansion tank has 12-13 psi, and the supply valve to my prv is closed.  This started after I had the boiler cleaned and checked.  The tech said my boiler psi was a little high, and he let pressure out of my expansion tank, I later recharged it, because when the system psi was 0, so was the tank.

So, can the T&P bad after 4 years, or should I be looking at something else.  I am new to the forum, and not knowledgeable about boiler systems.

Thanks for you help. 

Comments

• ChrisJ
    ChrisJ Member Posts: 15,588
    edited November 2013
    Pressure

I'm a homeowner not a pro and I know very little about hot water systems.

However my understanding is the compression tank should be precharged when not connected to the system. I'm not sure but I recall a 14 psi precharge if the system runs at 12 psi. I could be way off on this though as I said I know little about hot water systems. I do recall it having to do with the static pressure in the system though and I believe the correct precharge is VERY important so don't just go off of my 14 psi.

If I was you, I would take the tank off, make sure the bladder is good and precharge with the correct amount of pressure. Next I would replace the T&P because its probably just leaking. I believe it is very common for them to leak especially if they have been tested / opened after a long time of sitting.

I know this post is kind of like the blind leading the blind but maybe it'll put your mind at rest.

Hopefully a pro can help you out.