Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help getting radiator to stop banging

Options
Hi all,

Please excuse my ignorance...I'm a college student living in an old apartment for the first time with what I believe is a hot water/steam radiator (see picture below).

I believe the super turned the boiler on a few days ago, and since then the thing has been banging (steam/water hammer?) every time it starts up and I'm desperately trying to find a way to just turn the whole radiator off as I have my own personal heater that I use instead.

When I have the inlet valve (bottom left) completely open, it will do nothing, sometimes for hours, until night time when I assume it's cold enough for the boiler to start up. Then it will sometime hiss, gurgle, and always bang at least slightly. It does this 3 or 4 times at night every few hours and has woken me up for the last few nights.

I thought turning the inlet valve completely closed would stop it, but it does not. It does the exact same thing every night whether the valve is completely open or completely closed. Is it supposed to work like this?

On top of it all, it makes the noise but doesn't get warm or hot. Whenever it starts with the noise, I can put my hand on it and it's cool.

I've asked the super for help but the maintenance man wasn't able to come today and I'm sick of it waking me up for the last 3 or 4 nights.

I read somewhere else on the forum that turning the outlet valve (top right) counter clockwise so it faces down would stop it, but I've tried to turn it and it seems stuck. Is this the best thing to do? Is it supposed to be easy to turn? If I can't turn the valve, can I block the air hole at the top to receive the same effect as turning it upside down would?