Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New to hot water

Options
Boston_2
Boston_2 Member Posts: 107
Hi All,

I am new to hot water heat and could use a little help.  For the last 8 years we have had steam heat and with all the help from this wall and Dan's books i know a ton about steam and now get called to my friends houses when they have a problem before they call the HVAC guy.

We just bought a new (to us) house and it comes fresh with an older Burnham boiler (1980's) that is over sized.  We have had some trouble with the standing pilot but i think we have that fixed now. i have already ordered Dan's book, but i do have some questions.

What temp should the aqua stat be set too? It's set to 180 but that seems high? Is it better to run the boiler a little colder or warmer?

There are some older steel circulators (3 zones), is it worth replacing them? They make a little noise but nothing to bad.

There appear to be two air valves, one on the boiler and one on the return connected to a large cast iron trap (maybe an air separator??).  With steam valves you know when they need to be replaced, i am not really sure if they need replacement. One seems to have leaked at some point in the past.

Any thoughts on the best thermostats for radiant heat.  We had a vision-pro with the steam, but i am not sure if that is still the best option.

Any helpful hints would be appreciated.

-Mark

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    Options
    Any thoughts on the best thermostats for radiant heat.