Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

radiant boiler

keyote
keyote Member Posts: 659
my designer [ im installing} really seems to hate boilers for radiant  he says the low flow  1gpm burns them out and they are too expensive when tankless water heater are better, this is the opposite of everything ive read, but hes got a lot of experience and though ive done a fair amount of hvac and plumbing even a bit of radiant im no expert . i thought he was maybe operating on old information since hes kind of old but hes full of numbers specs etc i know enough to know hes not bullshitting but not enough to know if maybe hes just got a maverick perspective worth considering. i asked if it was the condensation from the low temp that burnd them out thinkng he didnt get the whole stainless modcon thing but he says no its the thin wall tubes get hot spots on low flow high btu i thought the tubes were now usually in a block to heat exchange for a dhw loop. any thoughts, if you guys are adament recomend a boiler i was lnterested in triangle tubes newer  also dans recomended one on the home page here , this guy swears by tagagi t2s

thanks again

im doing 5000 sf 5 story brick in brooklyn

Comments

• keyote
    keyote Member Posts: 659
    ps

hes also worried about short cycling  particularly with out door resets, yeah i know but his point is a solid breick house with spray foam insulation takes days to change temperature , this is true in my house , so by the time the house changes the weather outsides changes again and since im not a thick slab radiant heat sink but rather a warmboard under hardwood situation it doesnt take long to warm the room. kind of made sense while crumbling what i thought was extensive research. below is a design he did looks pretty good to me any thoughts- thanks
  • Aaron_in_Maine