Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Should the low water cut-off be installed horizontally?

Paul84
Paul84 Member Posts: 3
I hope someone can verify the following. I am not an expert, I just recently changed my plumber and the new one pointed out that my low water cut-off Guard Dog is installed incorrectly. He said that in the current setup it is useless and is only a decorative piece.

Apparently it needs to be installed horizontally instead of vertically.

Can anyone confirm this? I wanted to double check before I will call my previous guy and ask him to fix the job. Thank you for your help!

The model is: GuardDog RB-122-E

Part No. 144676

Comments

• R Mannino
    R Mannino Member Posts: 440
    The Instruction Manual

says vertical is acceptable.

http://s3.pexsupply.com/manuals/1288617750586/41150_PROD_FILE.pdf

page 2
  • icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Lower Water:

Your new plumber needs to bone up on his knowledge so he knows what he is talking about.

On a hot water boiler like you have (its not a steam boiler) the water level should always be completely filling the system. Only when the water level gets below the probe does the control become active and shut down.  What's more important is if he asked you when the last time you hit the test button to see if it stopped the burner.

It is amazing and astonishing how much someone can learn just by reading the instruction manual. You may think you are stupid before you read one. But after reading one, you have to come away just a little smarter.
  • Ron Jr._3
    Ron Jr._3 Member Posts: 603
    Not sure

about mounting the probe in a dead end pipe ............ 
  • icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Dead End Pipe: