Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Need Help Knowing How to Adjust Radiator Valves in Each Room

Hi There,

My Boiler Technician told me about this site. I'm a clueless young lady who needs some help knowing how to adjust the valves on the radiators in each of my rooms. The upstairs is much colder than my downstairs (and the units in each room upstairs are much smaller as well). I thought my boiler guy had used a wrench to hold the lug thing and then twisted the knob with another tool, but I don't want to mess anything up. This is my first time owning a house with a boiler so any tips would be greatly appreciated, especially as temps are dropping tonight.

Thanks so much!

Comments

• Paul48
    Paul48 Member Posts: 4,469
    Hi

Can you tell us a little about your system......one-pipe or two-pipe? What type of vents do you have on the problem radiators? Can you post some pictures?
  • NorthernComfort
    NorthernComfort Member Posts: 10
    Need Help Knowing How to Adjust Radiator Valves in Each Room

Oh no! I don't really know how to tell how many pipes or type of vents. I'm so sorry I'm not much help :( I did take pics and attached them below. Thanks in advance for any help.
  • Rod
    Rod Posts: 2,067
    Need photos

Hi - As Paul said , pictures really help!!  Take a picture of one of your radiators so that it includes the whole radiator.  We could also use a picture of your boiler including the piping connected to it. Take the picture from back a way as this helps us trace out your piping. We can zoom in if we need to see more detail.

It would also help us is you could give us any make and model numbers of the valves on your radiators. If you can't find a make or model number, post a photo of the valve.

The more info we have about your system, the better we can help you.

- Rod
  • Rod