Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam Condensate return problems

I am a 28 year hvac vet with my own business. I've worked on steam system for some time. I have a problem i need some advice on, here it goes

I recently (last week) had to do an emergency change out.I was supposed to receive the same Wiel McLain peg. Nat. Gas steam boiler. After receiving the new boiler I realized it was a different boiler, Wiel McLain LGB-5. I was sent CSD-1 controls which turned out to be a MM 150 main LWCO and a #63 manul reset LWCO. I have a Hoffman Watchdog WC-8-20B float operated condensate pump. The #150 has dual contacts, 1 set to shut down the burner and one set to operate a Return pump. The first night, the boiler shut off during the night. I came the next morning and had to remove water and reset the #63 to get the boiler to fire( I believe it steamed and shut off the manual resetting control and while it sat over night the condensate returned and filled the boiler). I watched the operation