Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hot Water Confusion

Options
lenster
lenster Member Posts: 3
I am a newbie trying to sort out an answer for my hot water and how it is controlled.

1) I recently had my oil service providers technician  tell  me that the thermostat on my Bradford White "water heater" needed to be replaced and that it is easy to do as it is not covered by their service contract.  I agree but with some caveats. The Bradford White was installed apx 8 years ago. Hot water is generated by my boiler (E.F.M.) ( the boiler was my hot water source prior to Bradford White installation) and delivered to the Bradford White (aquastat? indirect?)  The bradford white delivers to wherever it is needed, shower, dishwasher, faucets, etc. ? I have never been able to regulate the temperature on the Bradford White.  Water temp has always been way too hot.

2) The thermostat on the Bradford White ( Apcom WH9 thermostat) has never seemed to have worked.  I cannot get the water temp down below a scald level. There are currently NO wires going to the single heating element.  This suggests to me the Bradford White is merely a holding tank and water temp is controlled by my boiler.  Is this the case?  All wiring diagrams show wires attached to the heating element on the Bradford but dont know if it should be that way in my case.  I called Bradford White and they said that they couldn't help me.  Call a service tech.

3) This suggests that the hot water is generated and controlled by the thermostat on my boiler, a Honeywell, with a High limit and a Lo limit with a differential to be set between them.  Does the thermostat on the Bradford call for the boiler to reheat which seems quite often throughout  the day?  Every hour or so. Does the Bradford send cooled off water to the boiler and its sensor then go off to reheat?