Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

converting to 410a

when swiching ac equipment to 410a from r22,do you have to repace line sets.can you flush them out? how do you know if they have leaks? what if ther might be soft sodder joints somewhere?just in general what are companys doing out there with this new situation. i am a tech and have flushed a few but am wondering about the issues. thanks

Comments

• yesindeed
    yesindeed Member Posts: 13
    Student

The operating temperatures and pressures of R-410A is much higher than R-22 therefore line sets will require replacing. The liquid line set maybe reused if it is sized correctly and cleaned properly. When in doubt the system manufacturer should be contacted.
  • yesindeed
    yesindeed Member Posts: 13
    Student

The operating temperatures and pressures of R-410A is much higher than R-22 therefore line sets will require replacing. The liquid line set maybe reused if it is sized correctly and cleaned properly. When in doubt the system manufacturer should be contacted.
  • furnacefigher15
    furnacefigher15 Member Posts: 514
    Not true

While it is best to replace the line sets, in some cases it is either not possible or no economically feasible (especially in condo's)

If the old line set is exposed then replace it. If not, try re-rerouting a new line set. If there is no other feasible option, a line set can be re used, with a little effort.

Be aware, in some cases it will be more expensive to re-use a line, then run a new one due to the time spent in prepping the line set for re-use.