Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

mass sheetmetal law

Paul_69
Paul_69 Member Posts: 251
new mass.sheetmetal law, does anybody know a site with info. on where and when you need to pull a permit on residential heating and air conditioning installs and repairs. i am a licensed sheet metal contractor.example when you change out a air condtiong or heating system and tie into exsisting duct with transition or if you add one supply duct or return duct only do you have to pull permit etc.i know if its new construction and whole new system you need this but mainly questions on replacements and minor duct work repairs.very new situation and i am looking for guide lines with residential systems only.

Comments

• billtwocase
    billtwocase Member Posts: 2,385
    edited February 2012
    Permit

Paul, I haven't had to pull a permit as of yet. When I spoke to someone about this, i was told that one was not needed for transitioning into existing duct work. If there is any additional ducts run, etc, then I believe you need a permit. I would check with your town's building department, and see what they say. I'm sure it is quite interesting how each town will differ, like most things
  • Paul_69
    Paul_69 Member Posts: 251
    duct run