Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

rich57

rich57
rich57 Member Posts: 5
Hello newbie here .I recently upgraded my old American Standard boiler with a Buderus g115 with a Reillo  burner and a superstore for hot water

A  friend of mine is a plumber and he did the install. Here's whats goiing on,, the burner wil start and run for about 8 to ten seconds and the it will fire, sometimes smoothly ,more often with a slight bang(or thud if you will)

My friend says the delay is normal (of course it didnt bang when he was here to check it out) also it seems to shortcycle quite a bit.  Is this in fact normal or is there something that can be adjusted?

Thank you in advance

Comments

• billtwocase
    billtwocase Member Posts: 2,385
    set up

You will find many threads on here regarding this boiler and these issues. it needs someone who know's how to adjust and test with combustion tester, and draft  tester. It's that simple. If someone just throws the switch, and if fires off, and leaves it, not good enough. Call an oil service tech/company
  • STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506
    definately

a set up issue, most likely draft. The delay is normal (pre-purge), the thud is probably normal, but the bang is not.  You probably have way too much draft.  Next time it goes to fire (youll hear it coming with the pre purge), open the draft regulator all the way up, it'll probably fire smoother.  Just dont leave it propped open.

Short cycling is probably a control/set-up issue.  How is the boiler piped/controlled?
    steve
  • billtwocase
    billtwocase Member Posts: 2,385
    Riello

will recycle if things are not up to par with the flame. That is most likely your short cycle, it is more of a restart or recycle. There is a delay on start up, but it should start and run smooth
  • rich57
    edited December 2011