Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

brown sludge vs black sludge

I bought the house last winter in the middle of the heating system. So this is my first time starting the system after the summer. So opened the mud leg valve, boiler valves, LWC, etc., to bleed and remove the crud from the bottom, and refilled the water level, before firing it up for the first time tonight.

Before firing it up the crud was that familiar brown rusty look. But after the boiler was on for a short while, it all turned black. The water level glass was almost pure black, and the water out of the low water cut-off was also black. Is my boiler trying to tell me something?

Comments

• moneypitfeeder
    moneypitfeeder Member Posts: 249
    just a homeowner,

But the reddish sludge is rust, and as for the black, well I've found areas in my return piping that I've been opening and cleaning out that are completely clogged with "stuff" and when I'm cleaning that stuff out, and rinsing it it's running black. My only guess on that is carbon, and soot? Maybe even some from when there was a coal boiler installed? My suggestion is to get someone in to flush the returns and clean/skim the boiler. Good Luck!
    steam newbie
  • Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    How could that be?