Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

.07 draft at burner problems

mikedo
mikedo Member Posts: 174
in summer i installed a peerless pro boiler had it set up by an oil burner man (im a plumbing contractor) my burner guy has passed away. everything was fine till the last oil drop. it shut off on safety. i told the customer to call the oil company for a service call. they came out changed filter blew back lines new nozzle and it worked threw the night. then it kept shutting down on safety. new cad cell relay was put in. ran fine for a day and then started rumbling on shutdown really bad. oil company came back and claims draft is.07 at burner. and that is the problem. it has a draft regulator rc right before it enters the chimmney. im going to test the draft myself tomorrow. smoke pipe run is four feet. its a 50 year old chimney with a ceramic liner. any ideas what to look for when i go back tomorrow. thanks for any help

Comments

• billtwocase
    billtwocase Member Posts: 2,385
    positive or negative draft?

overfire or breech? need more info. Could be a bad fuel pump, or even just a strainer that is plugged. last cleaning done? What cad cell control was on it, and what did they replace it with?
  • Patchogue Phil_2
    Patchogue Phil_2 Member Posts: 304
    chimney blocked?

Check the chimney for (partial) blockage?
  • mikedo
    draft problem

negative draft. oil company wants to bring out a chimney man to look at it. i dont know what draft is before draft regulator im going down to check it mysel. never heard of a chimney with to much draftf
  • mikedo
    high draft