Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

What is it? And more importantly, how long will it last? Black 'rubber' radiant heat tubing circa 19

I am a home inspector and used to seeing the various different types of radiant heating tubing used for loops.

The home in question was constructed in 1986 in Whistler BC Canada and would be considered higher end (architecturally designed, Pella windows, radiant heating etc).

I don't know what the tubing is, and more importantly, what sort of expected service life there might be.

Tubing feels like/looks like the rubber hosing used to connect the radiator expansion tank.  No visible markings, appears to be stretch fit over nipples/fittings on manifold.

Not PEX, poly B, entran or any of the 'usual'

Any advice as to what it is (and how much longer it should last) would be appreciated.

Cheers

Comments

• meplumber
    meplumber Member Posts: 678
    Looks like goodyear (entran)

I believe (correct me if I am wrong boys) that the "entran" style tubing was available in black from another source.  Both were made by goodyear and neither had the O2 barrier. 

I have been wrong before.  The tubing may last the boiler may not. 
  • kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,418
    If I had to bet...

I would say SolaRoll... Rubber hose. Couild last 2 yrs.. maybe 10. Depends if they added anything to it... ex. glycol. That would kill it.  I would be more concerned about the boiler and ferrous components.
  • Chris S
    Chris S Member Posts: 177
    radiant tubing

That looks like rubber tubing we used to buy from Bio energy in Ellenville NY.  They sold it for snow melt & embedded back then.  It was cheap, and of course had no oxygen barrier.  Two systems that I installed approx 20 years old are still running (on heat exchangers)  They do eat pumps though.
  • SpeyFitter