Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Brick in the firebox burning and disintegrating

AJ1
AJ1 Member Posts: 24
I had a tuneup in Sep on my OLD oil  furnace.

It has a beckett burner. Its a steam boiler.

After the tune up I noticed that the flame was considerable longer and was touching the front wall of the firebox.

All was well.The boiler was running fine.

Today I noticed that the bricks are disintegrating and tiny fragments on the corner are splitting and falling in the firebox.

I need help with the following:

1. I am concerned that the firebox is splintering because the flame is going to far

2. Anything I can do to prevent the brick from dis integrating.

3. What is wrong and how can it be corrected.

Pardon me I am not a pro just a HO ..so need help from you experts...

THANK YOU.

Comments

• billtwocase
    billtwocase Member Posts: 2,385
    First is

get the flame off of the target wall area by either down firing, using a hollow nozzle, and use Lynn blanket to line the exposed brick. More burner specs needed. Firing rate, boiler max input
  • icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Disintegrating Bricks:

Bill is right. Get the flame off the firebricks.

Are there any old nozzles laying around, hopefully? If more than one, are they the same? If the "new" nozzle isn't the same manufacturer, spray angle or flow, it may be the cause. The person who serviced it may have changed the nozzle to something different that isn't working. Call the company or person who serviced it and tell them what is going on. It shouldn't be doing that.