Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

low water cut off

bradley
bradley Member Posts: 18
I want to install a low water cut off.  The low voltage terminal board in the slant fin boiler that I have has terminals for a flow switch, wall thermostat, and outdoor thermostat. How and where do I wire in the low water cut off? 

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    It may depend on local code.

I am not a pro, but my impression, from what I read at this site,  is that even if your code does not require a LWCO, you should have one.

My (80,000 BTU/hr) boiler says its controls are such that no LWCO is required in some jurisdictions. My contractor said one is required here, so they installed a M&M probe-type unit. My boiler has two terminals specifically for wiring a LWCO, but the contractor wired it in series with the main power into the boiler instead. So if low water is detected, everything goes off. I do not know how much of this is required by code, and how much is at the discression of the contractor. Inspectors approved it, whatever that proves.
  • bradley
    confused

A lwco does seem like a good idea to me also.  And I've talked to others who say its a good idea and then go ahead and plumb in feed water.

Anyway, my boiler has no terminals for a lwco. I have ordered a 24v lwco.  I've been told to wire the lwco in series with the wall thermostat.  But this makes no sense to me because the thermostat only tells the circulator to come on.  The boiler will fire up according to and internal aquastat.  Would I not be better off to wire the lwco in series with the flow switch?   
  • Jean-David Beyer
    I AM NOT A PROFESSIONAL ...

..., so please bear that in mind.