Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Timer versus Thermostat?

Hello, I am new to the Wall and new to steam heat. I have a 1923 two-pipe vapor/vacuum system. It has a gas fired 495,000 BTU Crane boiler; my guess is it dates to the '50s or '60s. Anyway, I am following Lost Art and We Got Steam Heat and will be replacing traps and installing the Hoffman #75 in place of our vacuum vent.

Anyway, I was wondering if there is a timer that could be used in place of the thermostat? We've been turning the heat on an arbitrary temp setting and letting it warm up for a couple hours, then we shut it off. The house stays toasty for several hours, then we goose it again before bed. All I really want is to "set" the system to turn on/shut down for increments of time.

Is there such a thing?

Comments

• Alan R. Mercurio_3
    Alan R. Mercurio_3 Member Posts: 1,620
    Re: Timer versus Thermostat?

If I understand your needs correctly it sounds like a programmable thermostat is what you’re looking for? And yes they are available.
    Your friend in the industry,

Alan R. Mercurio

www.oiltechtalk.com
  • Vermonter_2
    Vermonter_2 Member Posts: 22
    edited November 2010
    Aube TH148LE-P

I installed an Aube TH148LE-P in my home with one pipe steam. I've been VERY happy with it for several reasons.

You can program it differently for every day of the week. It has 4 settings per day. It "learns" how your home responds and adjusts itself accordingly. It can be set for 2 cycles per hour unlike many thermostats that have a higher minimum. It has an early start feature so that your home will reach the setpoint by the programmed time. This feature will change the time the heat comes on throughout the year. Lastly you can attach it to a telephone controller so that you can switch from vacation to comfort mode from any phone.