Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Backflow preventers

Wayco Wayne_2
Wayco Wayne_2 Member Posts: 2,479
Hey y'all. I need a simple explanation of why backflow preventers are needed on domestic potable hot water tanks. About 4 years ago our area started requiring them along with potable expansion tanks of course. I understand why a boiler system needs them, because boiler water is nasty stuff. But not why a potable water heater? I'm hvac so I'm not so much into the plumbing, but I've seen several systems where the expansion tank pressure has not been maintained and the result is a flooded basement. What problem is being dealt with and is it worth creating the flooding problems? Thanks for your information.

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    why backflow preventers are needed

I am not a pro, but I can guess.

Where I live, they are not required. I never had a backflow preventer in my (former electric) hot water heater, and even had none in my (former) hot water boiler. I suppose they were not required when my house was built in the early 1950s, if there even was a code then. When I had my boiler and water heater replaced, they did put a backflow preventer  on the boiler, but none on the indirect hot water heater. This system was inspected by a plumbing inspector, and electrical inspector, and a gas inspector. So I guess I do not need a backflow preventer on the hot water heater here.

It seems to me that there could be two reasons for requiring one on the hot water heater.

1.) If the hot water heater overheated, and the P/T valve was all calcium deposited up, steam could go down the supply line into the city water. I am not sure how realistic this is, because it might condense in the supply pipe. But I would not wish to guarantee this.