Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Wood floors and area rugs

Venus
Venus Member Posts: 4
Hi all,

Thanks in advance for the help, and forgive me if an answer to this has been posted elsewhere (I searched but couldn't find anything).

I'm an educated amateur designing a radiant heat system to replace my 100-year-old steam heat system that was abused so much over the years (prior to my husband and I buying the house last year) that repairing it really isn't feasible.

We're doing staple-up underneath in the basement to heat the first floor.  We have lovely original hardwood floors, and we cover quite a bit of area with large wool area rugs.  There are at least a couple of quite large rooms where 3/5ths of the floor will be covered by area rugs, and only 2/5ths will be bare wood.  (We're avoiding this problem entirely on the 2nd floor by installing in the ceiling.)

Here's the question, in a few parts to make it easier to respond:

1.  Because a rug pad and an area rug basically act as insulation, and because we'll be insulating under our staple-up so we don't radiate heat to the basement, won't the wood floor under the area rugs get hotter than the bare wood floors around it (assuming all is running at the same temp)?

2.  If that's so, and I use a set-point thermo to make sure my floor isn't getting too hot, I'd be tempted to place it under the rug so that I don't overheat the wood under the area rug.  However, if I do that, won't I run the risk that the under-rug area will trip the upper limit before the bare wood reaches its highest temp?

3.  Assuming everything up to this point is correct, would it make sense to actually use a *lower* temp under the area rugs, and use a set-point thermo in two places, one for the bare wood areas, and one for under the rug?