Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Dezincification attacking brass

Special_K
Special_K Member Posts: 3
<span>First, please forgive the lenght of this posting. there are a lot of details involved.I have not posted in the past, this is my first time. I was reading through my copy of Modern Hydronic Heating looking for something on water quality and it’s effect on hot water heating system components. I have a system that is show signs of what I think is a water quality problem and am at a loss as how to approach correcting it. Your help would be greatly appreciated.</span>

<span> </span>

<span>Let me give you some back round on the job. Approximately 3 years ago we replaced an old oil fired steel boiler in a home on the main line out side of Philadelphia. The boiler we removed was not the original based on how it was piped. I believe the original system was a gravity system. The home has the original cast iron radiators, a zone of staple up radiant installed in the mid to late 90’s, and a zone of radiant in wet bed in a bathroom installed some time after the staple up. The staple up tubing is what I have come to know as “ Onyx “, the black rubber flexible tubing attached to a brass manifold with small balancing valves.</span>

<span> </span>