Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heat meters?

Options
Thor
Thor Member Posts: 11
I'm looking at various options for efficiency improvements in quite a large (359 units in 16 buildings), old (1924), strange (2-pipe hot water fed by heat exchangers from steam boilers) system.

I'm not a heating professional -- I work in another field of engineering. But it is (partly) my job to evaluate some of the proposals we've received. Most are extremely vague and some are clearly questionable -- for example, proposing TRV installation system-wide with the assumption that the total costs are materials+labor at each radiator, no allowance for new bypass or circulation changes anywhere in the system.

Worse, for a set of structures of this age and complexity we are advised that actually computing heat-loss and thus estimating the impact of any efficiency improvements is not a practical undertaking.

But a young engineer I work with who comes from a civil engineering background had an interesting suggestion. He spent much of his early life in Europe where the hydronic heat was always metered, and he suggested that we might consider <em>installing a BTU meter on the main lines feeding just one of our buildings,</em> to allow us to prototype system changes in that building and measure their actual impact.

But I can't seem to find a suitable heat meter sold for the U.S. market. I am looking for something like the Honeywell EW449, which seems to be Europe-only.

I know how to measure the same data using industrial process controls. That would be expensive, complicated, and potentially unreliable; never mind the impossibility of getting support from any local plumbing company if anything nearby went wrong.