Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

surge protector on mod con?

Wayco Wayne_2
Wayco Wayne_2 Member Posts: 2,479
I just had a customer call with no heat. They had a power line down in their neighborhood and an associated power surge for some reason. they fried a VCR and a television AND the ECM fan motor of their Prestige 175 boiler.  I suggested a whole house surge protector at their breaker panel, but after repairing the boiler and driving home I was wondering if it would be better to put an individual surge protector on the boiler alone. What do you guys think? WW

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    I am not a heating professional.

I did to electrical engineering for a lot of my employment.

I would suggest a whole-house surge protector to be installed in the Power Panel of the building. It typically keeps surges under 1000 volts. It might be that that is enough to protect the electronics in a mod|con boiler. It depends on the design of those electronics.