Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

large ac for church

greetings.  since I'm a general contractor I've never gotten to "go to the wall" for help.  I've followed Dan for years, preach quality work to my crew and subs, and my trucks sport dead men bumper stickers.  my question involves replacement A.C. at a church i volunteer at.  the dead unit is a 50 +year old ammonia absorption unit that died from lack of use and scale build up.  now the bean counters are talking about putting in five 5 ton single phase compressors.  this means a new 600 amp panel, 175' runs for power and line sets to each unit, tieing into 5 blower units, etc.  shouldn't we be looking at a natural gas absorption unit (25 ton) and reusing the existing lines?  the gas, lines, power for pumps, etc. are existing.

Comments

• Empire_2
    Empire_2 Member Posts: 2,343
    50 Plus years?

If it were me, I would replace everything if for nothing else, to assure there are not other issues with existing Components and the like.    I would feel better starting from scratch, and still use new chiller, but add more control for staging up or down during the peak and off peak hours.  This type of job would be a great opportunity to introduce injection techniques with Primary/Secondary set up with redundant pumps.  Since it is a church, Am I wrong in thinking it for a large common area?  OR is some of the chilled water going to not only the church comm. area, but also to office space.......?

I think there is a wide open opportunity to save a lot of money as far as energy savings, but I think they're going to have to bite the bullet. 

Mike T.
  • patrickr
    patrickr Member Posts: 6
    gas chiller vs. gas driven compressors