Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

AC basics

Hey folks!

I am really new to the AC world, and took my first readings today on a unit I posted about a few weeks back, and now have a few newbie questions. As I set up the gauges, I found valves for both the ref & vac connections, but the ports were 'live' when I screwed my gauges on. Should these be turned off or what is procedure here? I found the cond unit to be totally clogged, and used NuBlast to clean the coils, and can now see right through them. After running about 40 min, I got 124psi on the ref line, and 33 on the vac. Does this sound like I got a real reading on the two pressures? Ref line was 88* and vac was 64.5*. The issue is the coil in the furnace freezes up, but the cond unit has been totally clogged for some time.My gauges have 4 knobs, (blue, red, 2 yellow hoses) all were closed when reading pressure. I ordered 2 very large books from Dan to dive in, but missed the install & troubleshoot 1&2 classes offered this summer.

Thanks,  Tim
Just a guy running some pipes.

Comments

• jim lockard
    jim lockard Member Posts: 1,059
    Truck

Sounds like you need to ride my truck for a week or 2 that would be the easy way to teach you most of (not all) the things about charging A/Cs. 
  • Empire_2
    Empire_2 Member Posts: 2,343
    edited August 2009
    Hey Tim: