Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New DOE boiler standards

Options
allenh
allenh Member Posts: 117
as a property manager my thoughts are...
Depreciation should be eliminated for anything that is more efficient i.e. reduces fossil fuel consumption. 27.5 years is way too long. We all know that few of the newer systems would last that long!
The environmentalist activists could start a fund. And those funds be lent to everyone at a very low interest rate to do upgrades of heating systems. And have the savings be applied to paying off the loan. It would thus be replenishing the initial funds. It would create jobs. And it would lower emissions.

Comments

• Robert O'Brien
    Robert O'Brien Member Posts: 3,541
    Options
    New DOE boiler standards

SEC. 303. RESIDENTIAL BOILERS.

Section 325(f) of the Energy Policy and Conservation Act (42 U.S.C. 6295(f)) is amended--

(1) in the subsection heading, by inserting ‘and Boilers’ after ‘Furnaces’;

(2) by redesignating paragraph (3) as paragraph (4); and

(3) by inserting after paragraph (2) the following:

‘(3) BOILERS-

‘(A) IN GENERAL- Subject to subparagraphs (B) and (C), boilers manufactured on or after September 1, 2012, shall meet the following requirements:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Boiler Type Minimum Annual Fuel Utilization Efficiency Design Requirements

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gas Hot Water 82% No Constant Burning Pilot, Automatic Means for Adjusting Water Temperature

Gas Steam 80% No Constant Burning Pilot

Oil Hot Water 84% Automatic Means for Adjusting Temperature

Oil Steam 82% None

Electric Hot Water None Automatic Means for Adjusting Temperature

Electric Steam None None

‘(B) AUTOMATIC MEANS FOR ADJUSTING WATER TEMPERATURE-